





Agenda of the 3rd International Conference of Local and Regional Authorities for Water 14 - 15 March 2012

	1	w
		Wednesday 14 March
ing	9:00 - 10:00 10:00 - 10:30	Opening Ceremony Opening addresses: Mr Muchayedi Masunda, Mayor of Harare - Zimbabwe and Co-President of UCLG Mr Serge Lepeltier, Mayor of Bourges – French Ambassador for Climate Negotiations and President of LRA commission for the 6th Forum Mr Loïc Fauchon, President of World Water Council Mr Eugène Caselli, President of Urban Community of Marseilles (MPM) Mr Jean-Claude Gaudin, Mayor of Marseilles Compromiso Mexico Water Prize (9:45 -10:00)
morning		Key Note Speech: Water challenges linked to urbanization Mr Joan Clos, Executive Director of UN-Habitat
E	10:30-12:30	From Istanbul to Marseilles: Local and Regional Authorities made things happen Co-Chairs: Ms Célestine Ketcha Courtes, Mayor of Bangangté - Cameroon Mr Hani Abdalmasih, Mayor of Beit Sahour - Palestine Speakers: Mr Pierre Victoria, WWC Governor, Coordinator of the Local and Regional Authorities' process for the 6th Forum Ms Rosa Mancini, State of São Paulo - Brazil and Mayor Vitor Lippi, Sorocaba- Brazil Ms Martine Vassal, Vice-Mayor of City of Marseilles- France Mr Emiliano Rodriquez, General Director of Water Services, City of Léon - Mexico Mr Sserunga Mubarak Munyagwa, Mayor of Kampala City Kawempe - Uganda Ms. Betty Lourdes Tabanda, Councillor of Baguio City, Philippines
lunch	12:30 - 14:00	Lunch
afternoon	14:00 - 15:30	Governance of water and sanitation services Co- Chairs: Mr Joan Clos, Executive Director of UN-Habitat Mr Josep Roig, General Secretary of UCLG Moderator: Mr Jean-Baptiste Mattei, Director-General for globalisation, development and partnerships, French Ministry of Foreign and European Affairs Speakers: Mr Kasségné Adjonou, Mayor of Atakpamé - Togo and Mr Pierre-Emeric Chabanne, Director General of IGD Mr Jean-Claude Gaillard, City councillor of Chatellerault and Mr Jacques Raynaud, Director of International Relations of Chatellerault Mr André Marie Zoure, Mayor of Garango - Burkina Faso Mr Pape Mor N'Diaye, Director of Decentralization, Ministry of Decentralization and Local Government – Senegal Mr Ricardo Hernandez, Director of CCAPAMA, Aguascalientes- Mexico
	15:30 - 17:00	Managing water in megacities: Catching up with urban growth through effective water institutions in megacities Co-Chairs: Mr Muchadeyi Masunda, Mayor of Harare, UCLG Co-President Ms Margaret Catley-Carlson, Member of the UN Secretary General Advisory Board on Water (UNSGAB) Panelists: Ms Maria Sol Corral, Vice- Mayor of Quito- Ecuador Mr Khalifa Sall, Mayor of Dakar - Senegal Mr Roberto Borge Angulo, Governor of Quintana Roo - Mexico Mr Shunqing Ou, Secretary General of Chongqing Govt - China Mr Michel Destot, President of Association of Mayors of Large Cities in France Ms Assumpta Escarp, Vice-President of Environment – Metropolitan Area of Barcelona - Spain
ä	17:00-17:30	Coffee Break
	17:30 - 19:30	Towards a Better Water Governance: Solutions from Regional Actors Improving cooperation to prevent conflicts related to water resources at Infra-State levels Opening: Mr Michel Vauzelle, Chairman of Regions United / FOGAR Mr Dominique Ramard, Vice-Chair for Europe of nrg4SD – Regional Counsellor for energy and climate – President of the Environment Commission of the regional Council of Brittany Mr Loïc Fauchon, President of the World Water Council Mr Benedito Braga, President of the International Forum Committee Speakers: Mr Philippe Henry, Minister of the Environment, Spatial Planning and Mobility/ Wallonia region Mr Tan Sri Badul Khalid Ibrahim, Chief Minister, State of Selangor – Malaysia Federal Deputy Leonardo Moura viela, Secretary of State for the Environment and Water Resources/ State of Goias -Brazil Ms Silvia Whizar Lugo, Secretary of State for Natural Resources and Environmental Protection and Coordinator General of the ANAAE, Mexican National Association of State Environmental Authorities Mr Ram AVIRAM, Former Ambassador, lead consultant at BIT-Consultancy (Water Beyond Boundaries) Mr Saeb Bamya, previous Deputy Minister of National Economy in the Palestinian Authority Mr Marcel Gaucher, Water Policy Director, Ministry of Sustainable Development, Environment and Parks / Province of Quebec Mr Aliou Niang, President of the Saint-Louis Region and President of the Association of Regions of Senegal

	Thursday 15 March	
morning	8:30 - 10:00	Water Culture in Local Governance Co-Chairs: Mr Simon Compaore, Mayor of Ouagadougou - Burkina Faso, Secretary General of AIMF Mr Cheikh Bamba Dieye, Mayor of Saint Louis - Senegal, Chairman of AIMF Governance commission Speakers: Mr Pierre-Alain Roche (Académie de l'Eau) Mr Pierre Baillet, Permanent Secretary of AIMF Ms Emmanuelle Robert (UNESCO) and Mr Jacky Vieux, Réseau International des maisons du fleuve Mr Mohamed Saifallah Lasram, Mayor of Tunis - Tunisia
	10:00 - 10:30	Coffee Break
	10:30-12:30	Cooperation and International Solidarity Co-Chairs: Mr Alain Juppé, Mayor of Bordeaux, French Minister of Foreign and European Affairs Mr Robert Winter, Lord Mayor of Glasgow Speakers: Mr Joan Puigdollers, Vice-Mayor of Barcelona - Spain Mr Imad Abu Sambul, Director of camp d'Aqabat Jabr/ Palestine and Representative of City of Besançon - France Mr Pierre Schapira, Vice-Mayor of City of Paris - France Mr Paulo Carrasco, Prefect of the Province of Azuay - Ecuador Mr Maurice Ouzoulias, President of SIAAP - France
lunch	12:30 - 14:00	Lunch
	14:00 - 15:30	Solutions from Local and Regional Authorities for Water Chair: Ms Martine Vassal, Deputy Mayor of Marseilles - France Ms. Régine Lange, Vice-Mayor of Toulouse and Vice-President of Environment - Sustainable Development Commission of Grand Toulouse - France Mr Alain Tanton, President of Bourges Plus Agglomeration - France Mr Hiroyuki Mabuchi, Elected representative from City of Osaka - Japan Mr Hervé Schiavetti, Mayor of Arles- France Mr Elcio Luis Zilmmerman, Mayor of Entre Rios do Oeste - Brazil
	15:30 - 15:45	Coffee Break
afternoon	15:45 - 17:45	General assembly of Local and Regional Authorities Co-chairs: Mr Kadir Topbaş and Mr Serge Lepeltier Panelists: Ms Mercedes Bresso, President of EU Committee of the Regions Mr David Cadman, President of ICLEI – Local Governments for Sustainability Mr Michel Delebare, President of United Cities of France, former Minister of State Ms Magali Giovanangeli, Vice Mayor of Aubagne, President of Urban Community of Pays d'Aubagne et de l'Etoile Mr Louis Le Pensec, President of French Section of the Council of European Municipalities and Regions, Vice- President of CCRE Mr Jacques Pélissard, President of the Association of French Mayors Mr Michel Vauzelle, President of Organisation of United Regions / FOGAR
	17:45 - 18:00	Official Signing Ceremony of the Istanbul Water Consensus (Advance Registration with Ms. Dubreuil: c.dubreuil@worldwatercouncil.org)
	18:00 - 18:30	Closing of the 3rd International Conference of Local and Regional Authorities M. Jean-Claude Gaudin, Mayor of Marseilles Mr Henri de Raincourt, French Minister responsible for Cooperation Mr Alain Juppé, French Minister of European and Foreign Affairs – Mayor of Bordeaux